Skip to content

Radical Tech Collectives and the Shape Of Things to Come

by on March 9, 2011

My storyboard exercise lays crumpled in my backpack and I begin to wonder whether I should redo it or try to find a goal. All I know is that I want to do something relating to tactical media and teaching folks the basics of web tactics. From my experience, knowledge of effective Internet resistance is clustered into select groups of tech snobs that use it to wage war against their enemy of choice. I’m particularly thinking of Anonymous, but I may be too pessimistic about the group since I don’t really know its inner workings. However, there is also technical knowledge geared towards activists distributed by entities known as  Radical Tech Collectives, such as RiseUp.net. Unfortunately, these Collectives and their zines usually have to do with either solely promoting technological security or advocating free non-propriety software. Granted these functions are important, but they do not arm activists in fully understanding their capabilities online. Likewise,  I do not want to focus too much on the potential of hacktivism since I am not sure whether it amounts to something beyond  a guerrilla tactic in online warfare.
I want to figure out how to place  the capabilities these tactics present to us into a form that is appealing and useful to activists. In order to do so, I need to figure out how various activists engage with online media and even figure out what the term activist denotes and how it is shaped by the matrix of domination. Or maybe, I should compile information into a Steal This Book for the Internet.

Some Radical Tech Collective zines:

Digital Security for Activists

The Radical GNU Vol. 1

An Anarchist’s Guide to Free Software

Privacy Enhancing Technologies

From → nerd

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

